Birkrigg Common

Birkrigg Common lies two miles south of Ulverston and just half a mile from Swarthmoor Hall, historic centre of the Religious Society of Friends (Quaker Movement).

The Common is crisscrossed by footpaths leading through the heather, ferns and pasture offering stunning views of the Lakeland fells to the north and the coastal landscape of Morecambe Bay to the east and south.

The Birkrigg stone circle (or Druids’ Circle) lies on the south-east side of Birkrigg Common. The stone circle is Bronze Age and dates to between 1700 and 1400 BC. In the centre of Birkrigg Common stands the trig column, which features in Wainwright’s ‘A Furness Sketchbook’. On the northern side of Birkrigg is a limestone pavement and heather covered ground. On a bright, clear day you can see as far as Black Combe, the Coniston Fells and the Trough of Bowland from the Common.

View from Birkrigg over to Hoad Monument

More Info:




Latest News

About Us

Our website aims to promote Ulverston, its wonderful lifestyle, businesses, shops, events and to attract people to live, work and… Continue Reading

Popular Events

Latest News

Useful Links

Website design by | Copyright © Choose Ulverston